Skip to content
Southwark Counts — Southwark, in numbers.Local help →

Southwark, in numbers

People and living standards

Southwark council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Southwark council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 227,246 in 1991 to 312,366 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Southwark council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 236,620 people in 1996; 312,366 people in 2025. 32% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Southwark council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991227,246
1992228,414
1993231,361
1994231,606
1995236,885
1996236,620
1997238,968
1998242,150
1999247,853
2000252,726
2001256,712
2002256,269
2003255,242
2004257,257
2005261,811
2006267,553
2007272,626
2008276,973
2009281,120
2010283,777
2011288,717
2012293,078
2013297,868
2014299,685
2015304,048
2016306,720
2017307,640
2018310,492
2019312,591
2020312,055
2021306,762
2022311,089
2023316,080
2024317,058
2025312,366
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Southwark council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 51,082 people in 1996; 45,998 people in 2025. 10% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Southwark council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,584
199246,952
199348,429
199449,426
199550,759
199651,082
199751,878
199852,598
199952,088
200051,674
200150,663
200250,724
200350,657
200450,660
200550,662
200651,026
200751,668
200852,143
200952,614
201052,882
201153,366
201254,236
201354,715
201454,641
201554,942
201655,172
201755,066
201855,021
201954,387
202053,704
202151,146
202250,260
202349,445
202448,110
202545,998
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Southwark council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 157,242 people in 1996; 236,399 people in 2025. 50.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Southwark council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991151,004
1992151,288
1993153,270
1994152,952
1995157,361
1996157,242
1997159,299
1998162,076
1999168,741
2000174,453
2001179,676
2002179,596
2003179,180
2004181,732
2005186,780
2006192,600
2007197,487
2008201,612
2009205,639
2010208,313
2011212,927
2012216,054
2013220,084
2014221,730
2015225,515
2016227,757
2017228,447
2018230,988
2019233,205
2020232,955
2021229,596
2022233,959
2023238,867
2024240,132
2025236,399
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Southwark council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,296 people in 1996; 29,969 people in 2025. 5.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Southwark council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199130,658
199230,174
199329,662
199429,228
199528,765
199628,296
199727,791
199827,476
199927,024
200026,599
200126,373
200225,949
200325,405
200424,865
200524,369
200623,927
200723,471
200823,218
200922,867
201022,582
201122,424
201222,788
201323,069
201423,314
201523,591
201623,791
201724,127
201824,483
201924,999
202025,396
202126,020
202226,870
202327,768
202428,816
202529,969
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 307,640 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southwark · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh30,5409.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African77,29925.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups22,1517.2%
White158,22051.4%
Other ethnic group19,4306.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 288,283 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southwark · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White156,34954.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups17,7786.2%
Asian/Asian British27,1929.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British77,51126.9%
Other ethnic group9,4533.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 244,866 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southwark · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White154,31663%
Mixed9,1463.7%
Asian/Asian British9,9514.1%
Black/Black British63,41625.9%
Chinese/Other8,0373.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 40.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Southwark council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,217 per person in 1997; £36,440 per person in 2024. 224.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Southwark council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,217
199811,631
199912,456
200013,438
200113,765
200214,019
200314,777
200415,600
200516,621
200617,582
200718,790
200819,194
200919,233
201019,891
201119,980
201221,094
201322,120
201423,559
201525,166
201625,752
201726,802
201828,684
201929,371
202029,041
202130,855
202232,718
202334,235
202436,440
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Southwark council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 5.7% in 1997; 40.3% in 2024. 34.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Southwark council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19975.7
19987.4
199910.1
200012.9
200111.3
200210.8
200313.4
200414.9
200518.2
200620.1
200722.4
200821.9
200920.1
201023.2
201122.6
201224.9
201326.3
201430.3
201532.3
201633.7
201736
201840.5
201939.4
202038.4
202141.3
202242.5
202340
202440.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

65.2%

21 March 2021 · Southwark council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.5%

21 March 2021 · Southwark council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.9%

21 March 2021 · Southwark council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.1%

21 March 2021 · Southwark council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£572,000

July 2026 · Southwark council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£2,474

August 2026 · Southwark council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.